GTI Ease To Victory

Image: Eoin Togher

by Brian Donnellon and Shane Brennan

After a slow start to the match, GTI put on a dazzling second half performance worthy of the victory as they pulled away to win 5-1 on the day.

Poor weather conditions and a lack of early intensity allowed DCU to put pressure on and were nearly ahead after 10 minutes, but for a brilliant one on one save from keeper Adam Keady. DCU pushed on, but GTI grew into the game, aided by  Michael Keady’s superb ability to play the ball out from the back, as well as an incredible performance from GTI’s number 6, Peter Walsh controlling the game. GTI were in control of proceedings and it showed because they were turning possession into clear cut chances.

The home team were ahead just before halftime, after a fine finish from Sami Omokuh and it proved to be a decisive breakthrough.

GTI picked up where they left off at the start of the second half and were 3-0 up by the 55th minute, with goals from Cathal Carney and Declan Sharkey. GTI were comfortable at this stage and were playing with confidence and creating chances with ease. The pace of Sami Omokuh on the left wing proved to be a constant threat and wore down DCU’s defence and a fourth goal was added by the hour mark. DCU rallied and scored what would be nothing more than a consolation goal, after a deflected clearance denied GTI a clean sheet.

DCU tried to get a second, but the final nail in the coffin was delivered when GTI rounded off a five-star performance with a fifth goal.

Onwards and upwards for GTI, as they are now in the All Ireland Semi final final next week.

The game will take place in Dublin.


Team Sheets: GTI

  1. Adam Keady
  2. Jason McPhilbus
  3. Michael Kenny
  4. Josh McFarleur
  5. Paul Mac Tigue
  6. Peter Walsh
  7. Joe Mclean
  8. Brian Morley
  9. Cathal Carney
  10. Declan Sharkey
  11. Sam Omoku
  12. Dylan Cunningham
  13. Nathan Lynskey
  14. Aaron Moloney
  15. Kevin Daly
  16. Ciaran Nugent
  17. Eoghan Colemen



  1. Killian Dunphy
  2. Shane Howesel
  3. Dominic Hull
  4. Dean Mc Carry
  5. Aaron Gocclison
  6. Shane Moore
  7. Romawn Marichd
  8. Jack Brake
  9. Conor Reynolds
  10. Max Chorles
  11. Stephen Moore
  12. Dylan Ralaigh
  13. Eoin Mahon
  14. Ian Martin
  15. Robbie Donnelly
  16. Finn Coifer
  17. Daniel Toieler
  18. Darren Meaney